COASTAL LEADERSHIP'S RESOLUTION TO PROTECT THE ENVIRONMENTAL AND ECONOMIC FUTURE OF NORTH CAROLINA'S COAST

WHEREAS, we are the Mayors of the cities and towns located in North Carolina's twenty counties coastal covered by the Coastal Area Management Act (CAMA), or the Chairs of the Boards of County Commissioners of the CAMA Counties without incorporated towns or cities, AND;

WHEREAS, the Coastal Area Management Act was created in 1974 to protect North Carolina's valuable coastal lands and waters through a comprehensive plan for the protection, preservation, orderly development, and management of the coastal area of North Carolina, AND;

WHEREAS, the towns and counties in North Carolina's coastal area hold themselves to high standards for protection of the rivers, sounds, and ocean with which they have intimate environmental, economic and social relationships, AND;

WHEREAS, commercial and recreational fishing generates \$4.4 billion of economic activity in North Carolina, AND;

WHEREAS, commercial and recreational fishing are at the historic roots of our coastal towns and villages and contribute much to our character and culture, AND;

WHEREAS, a single oil spill would close vast swaths of the Atlantic fishery including those in and near our state waters, AND;

WHEREAS, oil carried through the inlets could destroy shellfishing and crabbing for a generation, bringing economic activity to a halt and wiping out fishing families, processors, packagers, and shippers, AND;

WHEREAS, tourism generates more than \$20 billion of economic activity in North Carolina each year, AND;

WHEREAS, tourism supports our businesses financially, employing our citizens directly and indirectly, and these visitors make social and cultural contributions to our communities as well, AND;

WHEREAS, a single oil spill would close beaches and shut down fishing, boating and recreation, destroying tourism, wiping out the livelihoods of thousands of small business people, and causing economic disaster for their families and employees, AND;

WHEREAS, the loss of tourism, fishing, boating and other recreation would both eliminate the economic contribution these activities bring to the whole state, and would necessitate support of the coastal area from the state and federal government for years or decades, AND;

WHEREAS, our fishing and tourism economies are almost exclusively powered by small business owners who are self-reliant, AND;

WHEREAS, our communities and the state invested more than \$168 million over the last ten years for beach nourishment in North Carolina, to protect infrastructure and support tourism, AND:

WHEREAS, a single oil spill would significantly harm those investments in our beaches, along with the many other financial investments made in the coastal area during the forty-five years of CAMA protection efforts, AND;

WHEREAS, the United States has adequate energy reserves, including alternative sources of clean energy.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, The State of North Carolina and the federal government should permanently place state and federal waters and bottom of the Atlantic Ocean off-limits for oil or gas exploration, leasing and extraction.

Bobby Owens

Mayor, Town of Manteo

Tom Bennett

Mayor, Town of Southern Shores

Don Kingston

Mayor, Town of Duck

Brian Roth

Mayor, Town of Plymouth

Horace C. Reid, Jr.

Mayor, Town of Hertford

Bettie J. Parker

Mayor, Town of Elizabeth City

J. Andrew Sayre

Mayor, Village of Bald Head Island

Howard Braxton

Mayor, Town of Topsail Beach

Douglas Medlin

Mayor, Town of Surf City

Bob Woodard

Chairman, Dare County Board of Commissioners

Ben Cahoon

Mayor, Town of Nags Head

Eddie Barber

Mayor, Town of Emerald Isle

Craig Bloszinsky
Mayor, Town of Kure Beach

Jerry Jones
Mayor, Town of Morehead City

Ken Jones Mayor, Town of Pine Knoll Shores

Deborah Ahlers Mayor, Town of Caswell Beach

J.V. Dove Mayor, Town of Southport

Don Hardy Mayor, Town of Kinston

David S. Phillips Mayor, Town of Sunset Beach Everett Newton Mayor, Town of Beaufort

Sally Belangia Mayor, Town of Oriental

Cin Brochure Mayor, Town of Oak Island

Jean Toner Mayor, Town of St. James

Bill Saffo Mayor, City of Wilmington

Dana Outlaw Mayor, City of New Bern